Prepping for food security in Cagayan

Bountiful harvest of KSK Batch 169 in Aparri, Cagayan

“The SM Foundation’s Kabalikat sa Kabuhayan Rural Farmers’ Training Program is a big help for the Municipality of Lal-lo, especially as we have insufficient production of fruits and vegetables. This project is also relevant since people of Lallo don’t have enough studies and research on how to plant efficiently,” said Cagayan Board Member Maria Olivia B. Pascual.

Ninety trainees finished the KSK Rural Farmers’ Training in Lal-lo, Cagayan. Present at the graduation ceremony were BM Olivia Pascual; Mayor Florante Pascual; Municipal Agriculturist Jimmy Bacuyog; SMFI Outreach Programs AVP Cristie Angeles; SM Center Tuguegarao PR Manager Gerina Rose Malubay; SM Center Tuguegarao Hypermarket Jasmine Roldan; and Savemore Aparri Store Manager Dennis Recheta.

In another municipality in Cagayan, 83 trainees completed KSK training in Aparri. Their graduation ceremony was attended by Hon. Wilson Quillopo, Brgy. Captain of Caagaman West, Aparri,Cagayan; Ford Cortez, Teacher in charge of Don Formoso Elementary School; Dennis Recheta, Store Manager of Savemore Aparri; Shiela Cudal, DSWD SLP; Cora Cabauatan, MSWD Head; Marites Robinion, Municipal Agriculturist; and Hon. Ria Capiña, SB Member of Aparri, Cagayan.

In addition to the hands-on training in high value crops, the participants were also given a seminar on financial literacy by Mr. Dennis Fullente, a representative of One Net Bank. Ms. Rodalyn Matute of DSWD SLP PDO facilitated in teaching the participants how to prepare a Sustainability Plan, which was presented during the Graduation Ceremony. Other activities included the much-awaited harvest festival with cooking contest, a boodle fight, and a supermarket tour.

Also in July, 111 graduated from KSK in Brgy. Talay, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental. New farmers’ trainings were launched in Brgy. Tejeros, Makati; Brgy. Lamac, Consolacion, Cebu; Brgy. Ayusan I, Tiaong, Quezon.

In August, six batches of KSK commenced in Paniqui, Tarlac; Talavera, Nueva Ecija; Iba, Zambales; Taguig City; Dasmarinas, Cavite; and Tagbilaran City, Bohol.